YouTube of the Week: Jason Chen

I’m a bit of a YouTuber… or well, a lot of. And I’m always finding new videos to share with my friends, so I thought why not share them on my blog too?

Today, I share with you: Jason Chen’s cover of Still In Love With You 依然愛你 by Wang Leehom 王力宏

Jason Chen, already a popularly-known YouTube music artist, is known for not only covering English songs but also Chinese songs. As much as I adore his English covers, there’s something magical about his Mandarin Chinese singing. Even when he translated and sung a Mandarin version of Baby by Justin Bieber (be sure to check it out on his channel!), there was a special spark about his voice and I think he managed to make his version of the song really his own – not just a simple re-singing of it.

Another thing I like about this video, and this song in particular, is the way it really unites Chinese with the Western Society. Not only was the song originally performed by American-born Chinese (ABC) Wang Leehom who is a famous pop icon all across China but the original video was made and filmed in Taiwan by (another YouTube sensation) WongFu Productions, known for making inspiring short films – and who also happen to be ABCs too! I think it’s a really nice way for the Western Society to get to know a little more about the Chinese culture and also great for those with Chinese heritage, but who may not live or were born there, to get in touch with their roots.

It is for these reasons that I knew (and am really happy) that Jason would eventually make his own cover for this – accompanied by Gerald Ko (yet another popular YouTuber) on the guitar instrumental.

Although the post was intended to only share with you one video, it ended up I’ve shared with you much more. Incredibly talented music artists, film makers, YouTubers, a little bit of insight on the culture of China and the real message I get from seeing the bond between every one of those from the artistic community. I hope you enjoy the video – and I highly recommend searching out all the other names I’ve mentioned in this post, you won’t be disappointed!

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, YouTube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

