YouTubers to look out for in 2012

Hello readers. I’m sorry I’ve been neglecting this blog for a while, coursework and assignments have swamped me lately. However, I am back and to start off the new year I will share with you some of my favourite YouTubers to look out for this year!

1. Alex Goot

With an adorable voice and a superb talent with instruments, Alex Goot brings to the music world a particularly unique sound. Currently becoming an increasingly popular artist, he’s made many covers and a fair few original songs, each with its own “Alex Goot” spin – he has that sound that no one else has!

In the above video, he collaberates with the wonderous talent that is Kurt Schneider (see previous post!) to bring you a glorious cover of How To Save A Life by The Fray. And after that, why not a Katy Perry/Kings of Leon cover and Fireflies (my personal favourite!!)

2. Matthew Jordan

The lovely Matthew Jordan. I discovered him when he randomly sent me a message over YouTube. Although this is probably a common move for YouTube artists seeking new fans, I did watch his video and he did indeed impress me – enormously. He is a great singer, seems to be equally as talented in various instruments such as guitar, but one thing that particularly stood out to me was his funky piano/keyboard skills. The combination of everything definitely makes for some serious art. The video above is his cover of It Will Rain by Bruno Mars. But after you watch that, I recommend watching his original: Scared Of Love.

On a side note: he also seems like a sweet soul as he thanked me on my YouTube profile for my support. This YouTube artist who already has a hefty number of subscribers took time out to thank a supporter. Something about that just made me happy 🙂

3.  Jason Chen

Miniachilles or Mr Jason “Music Never Sleeps” Chen has been pretty active during 2011 so I’m hoping this trend will continue into 2012! When he’s not busy touring, he brings out some pretty interesting covers. As someone I’ve been subscribed to for quite a while, his covers seem to be getting better and better! And his original songs are also worth checking out – especially Best Friend (English and Chinese versions!).

The above video is his (absolutely beautiful) cover of 那些年 by 胡夏 (Those Years by Hu Xia) – a song, already beautiful in its own right, gets the Jasomniac treatment!

😀

Those are my main three for you to look out for!! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

Bonus Channel: Wong Fu Productions – For some interesting and usually very funny videos, this is the channel to check out! I haven’t been following them as much but the few videos I have watched have always been very entertaining and they seem to be growing incredibly popular by the minute. This year, I’ll be keeping an eye on them!

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in YouTube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to YouTubers to look out for in 2012

  1. Pingback: Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Simple Gifts « pyroandaqua

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

