Why I Seem Like An Idealist… Or Perhaps Just Naive

It seems I have an idealistic view on the world. I come across as someone who thinks everything is wonderful, despite all the news about the “bad, bad world” out there. But I just like to focus on the good points rather than the bad… or maybe I’m just too pre-occupied in my own imagination.

1. I still believe in real-life fairytales

I believe in true love stories. I believe that there is a Happy Ever After for all of us. And yes, I believe there is a Fairytale Prince who is our perfect match (I’m still waiting for mine).

Perhaps I’ve been watching too many Disney Films, romantic yet sort-of-realistic anime series, and several feel-good romantic comedies. I am most probably one of those hopeless romantic types. But actually, I have heard real stories about things such as “true love” and “happy ever after” which I guess is why I’ve always continued to believe in a fairytale-ish life (albeit real-life can be a little grittier). Better yet, I’ve witnessed a romantic love story unfold once. Sweetest thing ever, but that’s another story 🙂

2. I’m an optimist. And practically a cartoon character

Someone once said to me I resembled an anime character. Not a specific character, just that I looked like I could belong in an anime cartoon. It was unexpected since it wasn’t even like I tried to dress or look ‘cartoony’ but as a lover most things childish and cartoon, I took this as a complete compliment 😀

I guess my personality can be a bit ‘cartoony’ at times but I definitely wouldn’t categorise myself as a “Manic Pixie Dream Girl”. Personality-wise,  I resemble Tohru Honda from Fruits Basket a little bit. Trying to maintain that sunny cheerful outlook even when things get tough. Always thinking that things will be okay. It’s hard sometimes but I have the mind that thinks moping won’t solve anything or make it go away. Sometimes you’ve just got to keep going.

As a side note: As far as cartoon similarities go, my movements can be quite expressive too. I almost always wave my hands around or draw shapes in the air when trying to explain or describe something. Even when giving directions on the phone, I will physically point in the directions I’m describing despite knowing fully well that the person on the other side can’t see me. I did once think this was completely normal but have since had a few people mention how funny my lunatic waving hands are. 😳

3. I have the heart and probably the mind of a child

This goes hand in hand with the previous point. I fully accept that I am still a child on the inside. I’m amused easily and simple things are enough to keep me happy. I have a childish outlook on life. Regarding this, I really relate to Phoebe from Friends for her absolute childishness despite being able to get on fine in the grown-up world. I’m not such a child that I accept sweets from strangers but I will insist on watching and re-watching Disney Animated Films. 🙂

4. I adore most things that other people might find ‘soppy’, ‘cheesy’ or generally unrealistic

Probably goes well with my hopeless romantic character. All those soppy feel-good romantic comedies of girl meets boy and they end up together happily – I love those. They’re even better if they’re performed as an elaborate musical production. Yes, a big spontaneous musical number consisting of characters singing about how they feel may not reflect how people act in the real world… but I live in the real world daily, sometimes it’s nice to get away and escape into the world of magic and random artistic expression.

I know people who have never understood my love for fantasy/sci-fi/cartoons, telling me it’s too unrealistic and that I should try watching real dramas and soaps. As much as I do enjoy the odd drama (specifically romantic/comedy/both), I find it hard to stick with any soap at all. I watched Corrie for about a week and Eastenders for about three, but that’s as far as I got. Truth is, I love un-realism (is that a word?) because it’s unrealistic. It’s completely different to real life.

5. I spend half of my time in my imaginary world

I do spend a lot of my time living in the inside of my mind. Like I said, I’m living in the real world every day so when I can, I like to escape into this magical land inside my head. This imaginary world is inspired by reality, a kind of parallel universe, but it’s a place where anything can happen. Somewhere where unrealistic alternative options are allowed, options that would never work in real life. Somewhere I can go to burn all my coursework because I’m fed up of it and start a life as a magical wizard if I really wanted. A world where anything is possible. Including dragons. I love dragons.

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Seem Like An Idealist… Or Perhaps Just Naive

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

