Looney Tunes Brought Me Here

As a child, I grew up watching many very lovable cartoons. One in particular was Looney Tunes. Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Sylvester, Tweety and Taz… they were amongst my favourites.

Even now, I still like to rewatch episodes. It isn’t uncommon for me to switch over to the cartoon channel when they are showing repeats of some timeless classics. No matter how many times I’ve seen an episode before, somehow I never get tired of it. It always seems to entertain me even though I know exactly what’s going to happen.

So it’s interesting – that even if I’ve seen the episode numerous times before – it still manages to lead me to something new.

I am about to share with you three videos which I have found in the past week or so. For each, I’ll give a quick description of the video and how Looney Tunes helped me to find it.

 

September In The Rain by Dinah Washington. A smooth sounding Jazz piece. Very beautiful and very soothing. This song has actually been recorded by several artists but this was the first one I came across. The most memorable lyric for me is The leaves of brown came tumbling down, remember… a la Bugs Bunny.

How did I find it? I was watching The Looney Tunes Show – a modern spin-off show featuring many of our beloved toon characters – and in the episode, a young Gossamer sang this song at a talent show. Upon hearing this, I was instantly reminded of when classic Bugs Bunny sang a few lines of this very same song. I decided to search the lyrics to find the song name. Then afterwards, I did a quick search on YouTube – and I discovered a beautiful song.

(The very first time I heard this sung by Bugs, I didn’t think it was a real song – I thought it was made up!)

 

Hello My Baby (cover) by Trudbol & Sgtsonny. A Tim Pan Alley song, first recorded by Arthur Collins. It’s chorus is recognisable as being featured on the cartoon short One Froggy Evening where it was sung by Michigan J. Frog. This particular cover, performed by these two talented guys, is in a lovely a capella Barbershop Quartet style – which I absolutely adore!

How did I find it? Re-watching One Froggy Evening, I realised how much the song sticks in my head after the episode. Using the Google-then-YouTube technique again… I found this 🙂

(In the same episode, a song called Michigan Rag is also featured. This song, however, was actually made up specially for the episode.)

 

“What’s Opera Doc?” Live Stage Performance. A humorous stage performance of the cartoon short “What’s Opera Doc?” with actors – rather convincingly – portraying Bugs Bunny and Elmer Fudd. Their voices are spot on! I just had to smile whilst watching it.

How did I find it? I really liked the songs featured in the cartoon short and heard it was based on music by Richard Wagner, so I wanted to see if I could find any original versions. Another YouTube search allowed me to find this theatrical live performance… and with my love for theatrics (especially the more unusual, quirky ones) I was instantly intrigued.

(After some more searching, it turned out that the songs were specially created for the episode.)

 

I realise all of these videos have a musical factor about them 🙂 I guess I’m a bit more inquisitive when it comes to music compared to when I was a child. As soon as I hear a tune that I like the sound of… whether it be from the radio, a cartoon, TV show, even a computer game… well, anywhere!… I can’t seem to help myself – I will look it up!

I guess if something is truly beautiful, it doesn’t matter who or where you found it from first 🙂

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in YouTube and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

