The Source Of Cheer

I like to see myself as a positive person. An optimist. Someone who looks at all the good points in a situation and makes the most of things.

I like to be a source of cheer. I know how it feels to be sad, hurt or upset. So I try my best to always be kind. I’ll always offer a listening ear and words of encouragement, a hug or a smile. I’ll be there to keep them company. It makes me happy to see them happy.

I like to think I’m naturally optimistic. But I believe I owe part of it to my wonderful family and my lovely friends. Somehow, being with them always gives me a sense of joy and their own positive energy seems to just catch. That’s why I like to stay positive too. In the hopes that it’ll spread to everybody else who might need it.

Being away from home to study, it’s been difficult to stay positive… because there doesn’t seem to be anyone who can offer me that kind of positivity I get from home. That’s not to say the people here are bad. They’re all very nice, very friendly people. There’s just a lot of negativity in the air. And when you’re around negativity for so long, it can be hard to keep that upbeat positive thinking. You start to get pulled into that vortex of negative thoughts.

And so sometimes, I’m the one who needs to hear those encouraging words. I want someone to say “You can do it!” or “I believe in you” or even just “It’ll be okay.” Sometimes I want someone to listen to me when I’m feeling upset. Sometimes I need someone to cheer me up and make me smile again. I’m not trying to think only of myself; isn’t it okay to want that for yourself sometimes? It’s important to take care of others but it isn’t selfish to take care of ourselves too.

Sometimes, I’m the one who needs a source of cheer.

Tohru Honda (Fruits Basket) said that her source of cheer comes from those around her. I believe that to be true for myself too 🙂

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

