My Favourite Colour

Everyone has a favourite colour. Mine is purple.

But actually, my very first favourite colour wasn’t purple. It was green. Some of the other kids thought green was a weird choice for favourite. They thought it was bland, like grass or green vegetables.

I kept green as my favourite colour for a while. I’m not sure why but eventually purple started to appeal to me more and more, until eventually it overtook green as my favourite.

I’ve always still liked green though. In fact, it got me to thinking, all colours could easily be my favourite. Purple just happens to represent the experiences and childhood memories I had for it to have become my number one favourite.

So what exactly do colours represent for me personally?

Purple: The alternative. Unusual and quirky. It’s a nice mixture of calm and energy. It is a bold statement of the non-mainstream which can be just as much loved as anything else.

Green: Nature and the natural. Unafraid to be itself without needing to be masked by something else. Often in the background but always part of the picture.

Red: Energy. Determination. Warmth. It represents that inner voice telling me to go for it, to try my best. It tells me to keep on fighting.

Blue: Calm. Like the ocean or the sky. It represents peace and serenity. It’s the other voice telling me to relax under times of stress. It soothes the soul.

Orange: Laughter. Something about orange makes me think of comedy. When you’re with friends and are laughing together, about a joke or about a hilarious incident, that’s orange.

Yellow: Happiness and sunshine. It feels warm and inspiring.

Pink: Soft, sweet and cute. Love and beauty. Innocence.

There are plenty more colours out there in the world, I know, but those are the main ones which have personal meanings to me 🙂

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Art & Photography, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

