Remind Them Of How Much They Mean To You

Remind them of how much they mean to you,
Even if you think they already know,
They won’t always ask for that reminder when they need it.

It’s been a while since I last drew and posted a picture. This is my most recent piece of work, finished yesterday!

Today’s caption is inspired by the fact that some people don’t find it easy to share their problems with others. It might not be healthy, but some choose to keep their issues to themselves. They might not even give any signs that there’s a problem in the first place. Either because they feel no one else will understand, that they will become a burden to others, they feel ashamed, they’re afraid of what others will think… or worse, they think they’ll be rejected for having such a problem. For some people, this can sometimes skew our perception on how we are viewed by others. We start to think that people don’t actually like us that much… and by revealing our problems, we’ll be disliked even more than we are.

This caption reminds us to always show those people how much we care. Tell them we appreciate them being in our life, we want them in our life and we want to be in theirs. We’re human; we all have problems. But let’s deal with our problems together. Even if I don’t understand 100%, I want to be able to help. I want to try to understand. That’s the message I want to put out to anyone who’s struggling alone. You don’t have to be alone in this.

I chose to draw a hug in this picture because I see hugs as a sign of affection. It’s just another way, without using words, to say “I care about you.” And sometimes, like the saying goes, actions speak louder than words.

Remind them how much you mean to them. If they don’t always share their problems with us straight away (because I know that in itself can be a struggle), they’ll at least know they are loved. Unknowingly to us, that could be enough to cheer someone up without then even having to ask.

*

As usual, here are some practise sketches. I’ve only included a couple of the bigger practise drafts because the rest consisted of the same face being drawn over and over again, as I tried to get the facial expressions right.

Things I still need to work on:

  • Realistic looking hands (not the puffy hands that I’m so used to doing!)
  • Improved shoes (so they aren’t always flat and dimensionless) – the shoes in today’s picture are actually the best ones I’ve done yet (but there is definitely room for improvement).
  • Body proportions – because I can’t tell you how long it took for me to get those arms and legs to appropriate lengths!

I’ve set myself a challenge to draw more often and take less time finishing… so hopefully I’ll be able to share even more pictures soon! 🙂

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Art & Photography, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

