Can I Just Make This My Job?

I’ve been watching the Olympics. Sometimes I see some of the competitors cry. I seem to be very empathetic, especially lately, that everytime I see them cry (regardless if it’s tears of joy or sadness), I just want to give them a great big hug.

This reminds me of the time I watched Britain’s Got Talent. Those sweet contestants who come to audition all by themselves who end up crying with joy because they made it to the next round. They had nobody except themselves and the TV presenter to physically share their happiness with. I just wanted to give them hug.

This goes double for the people you see on charity documentaries. Be it about poverty, homelessness, bullying or any other… they will tug at your heart strings. First of all, you feel for the presenter of the documentary who becomes so overwhelmed by the harsh reality that some people live such lives. And of course, those who suffer or have suffered the circumstances and who are brave enough to share their story. The tears are always falling afterwards. For both parties, they deserve huuuuuge hugs.

Me and a friend were talking. We would like to be the people who stand at the side of these events, ready to come on to offer hugs when things get emotionally too much. I don’t think they employ such people who are purely there to give hugs, do they?

Can I just make it my job to give hugs to these people who need it? 🙂

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

