Describe Yourself In Three Words

Everyone knows this. The simple exercise designed to be the ice breaker between you and the stranger(s) standing next to you. Often used by teachers during first day where everyone gets to meet their fellow classmates and get to know each other.

I always liked the whole “describe yourself in three words” thing. I thought it was a nice way to introduce yourself without having to say much. This was much better than having to think of random questions by yourself and then asking them. I’ve always felt it seemed very unnatural to fire off lots of questions to try and get to know someone. Regardless, I had no problem if the questions were fired at me… it at least gave me a starting point for thinking of what to say back to them. πŸ˜›

But back to the point! Whenever asked to “describe yourself in three words,” I would very often go with my standard answer of:

Kind, friendly, polite

And I thought it was good. It shows people that I’m a nice person who would like to be friends with you! πŸ˜€ But I’ve been thinking. Yes, I am kind. Yes, I am friendly. And yes, I am polite too. But aren’t most people kind, friendly and polite? Do these words sound a bit too generic? Will people really ‘get to know me’ just from these words? Are they really reflective of who I am deep inside?

Of course, I’m being much too serious. The ‘three words’ activity is simply a way for people to just start talking. But I’ve been having fun imagining… what if you had portray yourself, the real inner-workings of you, using purely ‘three words’?

So here’s what I came up with.

1. Shy, awkward, introverted

Ah yes, this would definitely be a useful way to explain to new people why I may act a bit (okay, maybe a lot!) reserved. I think if I ever actually introduced myself using these words, I would probably get a few funny looks but I’m sure it would make sense to them afterwards. I can just imagine the chimes of “Oh! She really did mean what she said!” when I display my social awkwardness during a conversation. This would be especially great for those big group meetings. My level of shyness appears to be directly proportional to the number of new people I’m meeting.

2. Funny, quirky, weird

Funny ha-ha or funny weird? Probably both! I like making people laugh, although more often than not, it would be completely unintentional πŸ˜› I wish it was on purpose but I guess as long as they’re amused (and it wasn’t spiteful, of course!), then I’m happy to be laughing with them together. Being an awkward person makes me come across as a little weird. But for the people who know me, they just see it as one of my quirks. I think this is why I really admire quirky people who aren’t afraid to be a little different.

3. Optimistic, dreamer, thoughtful

I have a bit of a romantic view on life. I’m a full-on daydreamer because thoughts and adventures fill my head. I feel inspired when I go outside, breathe in the fresh air, feel the sun on my skin, hear the birds sing and just embrace the beauty of life. It feels good and makes my mood a lot brighter. Negativity drains me. I can’t ignore the fact that there are bad things going on in the world but being an optimist doesn’t mean I don’t acknowledge these things; it’s just that I choose to focus on the brighter things in life. As much bad there is in the world, there’s also a whole lot of good and I think it often gets overshadowed.

4. Lost, insecure, anxious

The ‘other’ side of me. The more hidden side of me. The side not many people really know of. I may be an optimist but I’m also a real human being. And like most people, I feel these emotions too. But I don’t tend to talk about this side of me because I find it difficult to do so without feeling uncomfortable or like I’m being pitied. But it doesn’t mean that side isn’t there at all.

But so far, these ‘three word’ descriptions have only described the seperate sides of me. What if I wanted to describe myself as a whole?

5. Optimistic, quirky, introvert

Out of all the words I’ve used, I feel this combination would describe me best. That first impression I’d like to leave is that I admit I have my own personal quirks, I can be a little reserved and it might take time to really get to know me but I’m a happy-go-lucky kind of girl who loves the wonders of life!

Three words alone are absolutely not enough to fully describe any individual. But I think this should be enough for an introduction πŸ™‚

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Describe Yourself In Three Words

  1. A very thoughtful post, well-written, and I enjoyed it very much. And you definitely sound like someone worth knowing. : )

    • Lily in the Nova says:

      I’m glad you think so! Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I’m really happy that you enjoyed this post πŸ™‚

      P.S. I really like your illustration work on your blog πŸ™‚

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

