A Story To Tell: So Kind

I have decided to start a new project. I am starting a series of individual mini-stories, told using manga-style artwork and also the written word. The idea is that, progressively, I will develop the drawing skills needed to tell a full story through mainly pictures with accompanying words, like in manga/comic/graphic novel books. (You will see as I begin this series, it’s currently the other way around – more words with accompanying pictures.)

This is all in anticipation of bigger project which I hope to start in the near future. I have been thinking of starting this project for a few months now, with the ideas being in my mind for about two years and having timidly experimented with different ways of conveying these ideas across. But now, I have chosen how I want to express these ideas… the next step now is to expand upon my limited drawing skills.

I have thought many times to just start the main project now but the truth is I don’t think I’m ready. Instead, I’ve opted to build my way up by first slowly improving my skills and document my progress along the way in this blog. It’ll take time, it’ll require patience but this is the way my heart points.

I share this series with you and hope you enjoy reading. Each mini-story will be tagged ‘A Story To Tell’. All stories can also be easily found in the new page on this blog, also entitled ‘A Story To Tell.’

This is the first of the series. Thank you for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

*

So Kind

He looks so troubled. Did I do something to trouble him?

“Are you okay?” He looks so troubled. “Is something bothering you?”

He doesn’t even look at me when he answers.

“It’s… I just don’t… I don’t understand…”

“I don’t understand how you can be so kind..?”

He doesn’t understand? What does he mean by that?

“You’re… you’re always so kind. I’ve never known you to be anything except friendly. But… knowing your past… how do you do it?

Didn’t you once tell me of the torment you endured? Didn’t you tell me of the trauma you faced? You treated everyone with nothing but warmth. But the words that the were said to you. The stones that were thrown at you. The emotional scars they caused… Unseen but still there. You didn’t deserve that at all.”

Why is he bringing this up? It was so long ago.

“You’re a person who was put through so much emotional torture. It must have made you feel so alone and angry at this world. So shouldn’t you be a bitter person now? Shouldn’t you be treating everyone else with the same disdain that you once received?

But no… you’re not bitter at all. How is it that you remain so nice? How can you be so kind?”


… He feels troubled because of this? I… I didn’t realise he had put so much thought into my past…

But he’s right. Back then, I was made to feel like I didn’t belong anywhere on this world.

“But don’t you see?”ย I try to explain to him. “That’s exactly why I choose to always be kind.

All the torment that they put me through. It hurt. A lot. It caused me so much pain. I could never understand why someone would want to cause so much hurt to another. But there it was, it happened.

But you forget, I also had kind people around me to help me through the pain. They reminded me that though there are people who hurt you, there are also people who can make you better too. And because of that, I told myself something.

I told myself, I would always be kind to others. Because I never want be the source of such pain to a person. I don’t want to cause it, but I do want to help to heal it.

You asked me how I can be so kind. I’m kind… because I know how it feels to be hurt.”

He just looked at me and smiled. I think he understands now.

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in A Story To Tell, Art & Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Story To Tell: So Kind

  1. Pingback: About Drawing ‘So Kind’ | pyroandaqua

  2. soul . to . earth says:

    I don’t know anything about Manga but it’s as if the eyes are its most expressive form? Now that I see this, I guess your Gravatar is also Manga-style? Nice! ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘

    • Lily says:

      Yes indeed! Like with most artforms, there are many different styles of Manga but it is the big expressive eyes which most people come to know Manga for – it was certainly the first thing I noticed!

      My Gravatar is indeed Manga-style. It’s actually one of my favourite characters from a Manga I’ve read ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

