A Story To Tell: It’s Not Selfish

“You do realise it’s okay for you to do what you want to do, right?”

What?

“You. You are allowed to do something that you like doing, you know. You don’t always have to let other people decide.”

But I don’t mind going along with what ever other people choose. Besides, what if other people don’t like what I choose?

“Then they wouldn’t do it.”

What if they did it out of politeness? What if they didn’t know if they liked it or not? What if they discovered they actually disliked it a lot? It would be selfish of me to make them go through that, all because of me.

“It’s not selfish to have your own choice, for once.”

But-

“Think of it this way. If they are always choosing, how will they know what your own likes are? How will they know if they like the same things you like? Don’t you think you should let them find out? What if they really wanted to know what you would like to do, but you aren’t telling them?”


“My point is… it’s okay for you to do what you like sometimes. Others won’t mind. In fact, they’ll be happy. They’ve probably been waiting to give you your turn, after all.

Which brings me to my next question. What do you want to do?”

…? What do I want to do?

“Apparently, you don’t think about this question very much, do you?”

Well… I don’t mind! I’m happy with anything!

“As usual…

Fortunately, I have an answer for you, because your actions speak louder than your words.”

A picnic?

“Because you like picnics!”

How do you know that?

“I don’t. I guessed. I only think you like picnics because you like sunny days, grassy fields, and open parks…

… And also you always look at picnic baskets in shop windows and people eating outdoors.”

……………… You noticed that?…

“… So would you like to go on a picnic or not?”

Um…

“Say yes or say no. Let me know a bit more about what you do or don’t like. I’d like to know what you think.”

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in A Story To Tell and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Story To Tell: It’s Not Selfish

  1. Pingback: Lessons Learned From ‘It’s Not Selfish’ | pyroandaqua

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

