Lessons Learned From ‘It’s Not Selfish’

For my latest post as part of my ‘A Story To Tell’ project, I took a dip into the world of artistic digital editing.

I’m definitely only a beginner with this. I’ve looked up a few online tutorials to help me get started and decided to just go for it.

Considering it was my first attempt, I’m quite happy with the results! One thing I need to work on is the outlines of my characters… they were hand-drawn in pencil and left as-is, so look a little sketchy and rough. Maybe I should redraw them digitally to give it a cleaner look?

Another thing I should try soon is adding more colour instead of keeping it grayscale all the time 🙂

Editing took a lot longer than I anticipated. Partly because I’m still getting used to using my PC drawing tablet (it feels very different to drawing with a pencil!). Partly because it’s probably a process that needs a lot of effort to make it the best it can. And partly because… I guess I didn’t really know what I was doing.

I learn best when I’m left alone to experiment. I prefer finding things out on my own. I like researching through books, videos, pure hands-on experience, etc. I’m the type of learner who likes to try things herself first, without the pressure of another person watching. Then if I have questions, I’ll ask.

That’s not to say I like to be learn things completely on my own. I prefer having a guide. Teachers are there for a reason afterall; to teach. Whether they are in literal human teacher form or if they are the form of learning tools found online. I just prefer my guides to be gradual rather than overwhelming.

I guess ultimately, I like to know what I’m doing before I ask questions. I need to, at least, have some sort of clue.

I don’t want to have no clue. Because when I have no clue, I don’t know where to begin with the questions. I’ve been in that situation too many times.

So I guess I learned a little more than just art-related lessons. I learned a little more about myself just from trying something new. 🙂

*

P.S. Here are some of the sketches before they were edited!

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Art & Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

