Trying Something Different with ‘Overthinking It’

The third edition of my ‘A Story To Tell’ series had me trying something a little different to the previous episodes. I tried my hand at a short comic strip style.

I was limited to speech and dialogue to tell the story. No narration in this one. Also minimal digital editing, except minor touch-ups and typing dialogue.

One thing I’ve learned: Make sure speech bubbles are big enough to hold the speech! I did a lot of dialogue editing because the bubbles turned out to be too small to hold what I had initally planned the characters to say.

Another thing I’ve learned: Re-drawing the same character in the same stance, without tracing, can be quite challenging!

It was only a mini-comic. More fun, less serious, plain silly, probably more of a ‘short’ than ‘story,’ but something I wanted to tell all the same.

This was not my first time trying a comic book style. When I was 11, I made my own extensive little comic book filled with the adventures of Mickey Mouse and Donald Duck – and loosely based on the Sega Megadrive game ‘World of Illusion.

All in the name of fun! 🙂

Who knew that 10 years later, I’d be back to my antics of drawing tales and comic panels? 😛

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Art & Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trying Something Different with ‘Overthinking It’

  1. Mei says:

    This is so cute! Even though you didn’t fill in the speech bubbles in your pictures (i made up my own dialogue) it looks like an amusing tale. 🙂

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

