Dear Twelve-Year-Old Self

Earlier this week, I heard someone say “I wouldn’t want to be that age again. Actually, maybe I would… but only if I knew then what I know now.”

Everyone is a little curious about what’s in store for them in the future. Some like to read horoscopes. Some venture out and try fortune telling. I came across a CBBC show called Twelve Again, where various presenters/actors/celebrities, etc, are asked about what they were like at that age and what advice they would give their twelve-year-old self. It was interesting to listen to the different bits of advice each person gave themselves.

This is the letter I would write to twelve-year-old self – if time travel existed and there were no risks of causing a paradox or alternate timelines. πŸ˜›

*

Dear Twelve-Year-Old self,

Hello! How are you? I know you’re doing well πŸ™‚ I am the Present Day You, or from your perspective, the Future You. I guess I should start off by saying I’m pretty happy with where I am. There’s still a lot more left to chase after and plenty to figure out but concerning everything I have so far, I’m quite content.

I write this letter bearing some advice and hints of your future life.

First off, don’t be afraid of who you are. I know you’re trying hard to fit in but don’t forget yourself. You don’t need to blend yourself in with everyone else because that’s what’s “cool”. Soon, your little quirks will be what makes you unique in the world – and in a few years time, you’ll notice how “different” suddenly becomes “cool”.

Second. Don’t worry so much about what other people think. Of course, keep listening but it’s also important to know what you think too. I know you’re waiting for a Prince Charming / Fairy God Mother to realise your inner-self, but you don’t need that. Don’t be afraid to do what you want to do. Don’t be afraid to realise this yourself. You can do it πŸ™‚

Third. You’re a quiet kind of girl. There’s a reason for that – you’re an introvert! Look up that word when you can. You’ll understand. Also look up 10 Myths About Introverts on the internet. And listen out for an artist called Owl City. All of this helped me understand myself better.

Next. Soon you will be asked questions about “your future.” And I mean, serious questions particularly involving careers. But you’re the type of person who prefers not to think so far ahead into the future. Keep that kind of thinking. Sure, it’s good to think a little about what you’d like in the future, but don’t be pressured into those big details just yet i.e. what degree should I get? What career do I want? You’ve got plenty of time to think about that. There will be some who will tell you it’s important to decide now and if you don’t, the rest of your life will be horribly muddled up and it’ll be the end of the world. Well as you instinctively know… it won’t be. And I can vouch for that.

But for when you do start thinking about the future, give it lots of thought. Keep in mind the kind of thing you’ve always imagined of doing. And don’t think too specifically about what you want as a job/career. Instead, think about what it is you want in life. That will help you answer everything else.

There’s something else I should tell you. The world has some very judgemental and elitist people around. Just be aware of that so you won’t get dragged into it. You won’t but it’s always good to stay alert about these things.

Don’t be afraid of making mistakes. Mistakes help you to grow. And every experience helps to mold you to become who you are. All experiences are lessons for yourself. Every point in your life, whether good or bad, makes you. You’ll understand this when you develop a whole new outlook and a fresh perspective about life and regrets.

And in regards to this new outlook that you will soon gain… look forward to falling completely in love with life πŸ™‚

A few other things…

You know that Mickey Mouse / Donald Duck comic you’ve started? Keep going and keep coming back to it πŸ™‚

Keep listening to music and keep expanding your musical tastes. It’ll impact your world like nothing else. (Additionally, it will help you become a formidable competitor at a little future-something called SongPop).

You’ll be naturally petite. Some people can’t help but point that out to you. Some will say so affectionately which will make you feel like a cute pixie but for those who don’t, remember Lady Gaga, Kylie, Song Hye-Kyo and the fictional Tohru Honda are also the same (you’ll know who these people are in a few years time). πŸ™‚

I also want to thank you for your great memory. You’ll come to remember a lot of stuff about life, people and everything else – including things which most others will forget! This is useful for remembering those little details… ranging from useful and meaningful to the rather pointless variety!

And finally. If nothing else, just keep doing what you’re doing. Because what ever it is, it gets you to where I am now as the Present Day Me… i.e. Future You! And Future You is pretty happy with where she is right now πŸ™‚

Keep loving life.

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Twelve-Year-Old Self

  1. Mei says:

    I love this! You give yourself such awesome advice…especially about not trying so hard to fit in cuz it’ll soon be cool to be different. That’s something I definitely struggled with when I was younger. Who knew that life would get so much better after leaving high school. Awesome post! πŸ™‚

    • Lily in the Nova says:

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting!! πŸ™‚

      It really is amazing how in school, we all tried to be the same… but then we realise being different is what truly makes you cool. If only we knew that at the time! Thanks again for reading! πŸ˜€

  2. soul . to . earth says:

    Beautifully written, as always. FYI –Fireflies by Owl City is one my fav. songs. ❀

    Meeting my 12-year old self would involve time (1983) AND space (India) travel – far, far away from here (Toronto) and now (2016). I'd tell her, Kiddo-dearest, life is an ongoing experiment in experience – it’s not a thesis to conclude or defend. Enjoy all parts of it! πŸ˜›

    • Lily says:

      That is some great advice! I ought to remind my “present day” self of that every so often too πŸ™‚

      I love Owl City – Fireflies too! My other favourites are Saltwater Room and Peppermint Winter (which is actually a Christmas tune but it’s so cute, I’d listen to it any time of the year). πŸ™‚

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

