The Things I’ve Realised

I realised that it’s been over a year since I started this blog! Officially, I started this somewhere in June 2011… but never really posted anything properly until November when I took my love of sharing YouTube videos with friends and chose to expand to the wider internet community. Now, this blog has evolved into a place where I can write my thoughts, share interesting videos and just indulge in my was-dormant-now-awoken creative side 🙂

I’m really glad to have discovered WordPress and its blogging community. You’re all so friendly and your posts always interesting! It’s really fun seeing what you all have to share!

So because it’s been at least a whole year of blogging, reading and thought-provoking goodness… I wanted to share with you a few things that I realised about life in general, over this past year.

*

Appreciating Time
We spend so much effort in wishing time away and yet when it’s gone, only then do we realise how much we miss it and how much we enjoyed it. This is why I told myself I shouldn’t complain about the present so much because at some point, things will change and we’ll miss how it used to be. I believe that things should be appreciated here and now, not when it’s gone.

Best Years Of Our Life?
Growing up, I have always been told by grown-ups how *insert age range here* will be the best years of our lives. And the cliché goes that we won’t know it at the time but will only realise until after that time has passed. But I don’t like to believe that. Why should ‘the best years’ be restricted to a specific age? Are they really saying that after those years, there will be nothing else that will match the enjoyment we felt previously? I like to believe that there will always be something to look forward, no matter what age we are. It might not be the same thing as but it’ll be equally as enjoyed. Life, in its entirety, is something we should enjoy always.

Longer Than Expected
Some things can be picked up quickly. Some things take time. And if you wanted to really master it, it will take a lot of time. I used to give up so easily when I couldn’t do something. “I’m just not made for this” I would say. But with perseverance and determination, you can improve. Even if it takes longer than you thought. One thing I never gave up on was coursework and assignments (I felt like I had to keep trying because I didn’t want a bad grade :mrgreen:)… I realised if I put as much effort into my other interests, I could improve. Maybe I just needed the pressure that only school/university could give me 😆

Dreams and Childish Thinking
Sometimes, dreams change and so do our interests, tastes and passions. But I think we should never let go of that childish way of thinking we can do and be anything we want to be. It’s only when we grow up when ‘grown up’ thoughts take over and we forget about our dreams and passions. Money, reputation and social status. In my opinion, those are not good reasons to completely ditch our dreams and passions, at least not straight away.

Money Is Not Everything
Yes, money can buy us lots of fancy things and we also need it for basic living… but like the saying goes, it does not buy us happiness. Earning lots of money was never a goal of mine when it came to thinking about the future. Although it be a good bonus (after all, in this world, we can’t deny that we do need money), the main thing I wanted for my future was to do something that I loved and enjoyed everyday, with fun like-minded people. That was more important to me than having a high-earning job that I didn’t really like.

The Internet Isn’t So Scary
There are still dangers about on the internet and we should be wary of how we use it. But there are a lot of very friendly people out there! I’ve found out that the internet really is a great way to talk to people I would have never found by any other means. It’s funny that I used to think that nobody on the internet would be very nice, unless you knew them in real life! It’s nice to know that isn’t true. You are all so lovely!!

Life Is So Much More
When I was 10, this was how I thought life went: Grow up, get good qualifications, go to university, earn your degree, get a job, earn money, get married, have a family, succeed and live happily ever after. That was it. I thought that was the definition of life. Oh how wrong I was. Although I am on track for this route and would still like to reach these milestones, I don’t think it’s as simple. I feel like there should be much more in between. Maybe it’s just me but I don’t want just an ordinary life. I want an extraordinary life! 😀

Finding Our Meaning To Life
People ask “what is the meaning of life?” But I think that each person finds their own meaning. I’m still kind of figuring out mine but I’m making progress. I realised that life is not just ‘merely existing’ but truly living. I don’t think we should be at all passive and let life pass us by. Let us get actively involved with every day that life brings us.

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

