Roots Before Branches

So many things to do and say,
But I can’t seem to find my way,
But I wanna know how.
I know I’m meant for something else,
But first I’ve gotta find myself,
But I don’t know how.

Oh why do I reach for the stars,
When I don’t have wings,
To carry me that far?

I gotta have roots before branches,
To know who I am,
Before I know who I wanna be,
And faith,
To take chances,
To live like I see,
A place in this world for me.

– lyrics from Roots Before Branches by Room For Two

*

I really love these lyrics. They say so much about the struggle of growing and learning about ourselves. Trying to find our place in the world and to one day live the life we envision for ourselves.

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roots Before Branches

  1. I always find thoughtful reflections when I come here… : )

    I especially like the line about needing roots before one can have branches. I read something similar recently, to wit: one can’t extend hospitality to others unless one feels truly at home with oneself.

    I’m waving my branches at you and saying, “Merry Christmas, Lily!!” : )

    • Lily in the Nova says:

      Wow, what a wonderful quote! And one I very much agree with too 🙂
      Thank you for your comment, I couldn’t help but smile reading it. From one growing tree to another, Merry Christmas! Have the most wonderful one 🙂

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

