Reading My Diaries

I was having a tidy up of my room today, trying to de-clutter and clear out any stuff I don’t need anymore, when I found my scrapbook box which contained my old diaries.

It was a lot of fun reading them, although some of the stuff I wrote did make me laugh. I wrote about such simple everyday stuff back then!

Here is an entry that I wrote on New Year’s Day 2004 – I was 12.

Date: 1st January 2004
Weather: Light rain

Do you know what this means? New Year Day! It’s a cold but fresh start to the new year. My resolution:

to be helpful to my family, do a few bits of housework, and stick to the plot of any of my little stories.

Hmm … I really think my italic font works.

I actually wrote in italic handwriting for the new year’s resolution. I remember it was the first time I tried writing in italic and thinking “actually, this looks pretty good”… hence the little note at the end!

Reading this entry also reminded me of something else. I used to think up all sorts of stories in my mind back then – and actually I still do now! I always did live half of my life through imagination!!

There was another entry in my diary where I mention writing a Sonic book. Yes, I remember that! I started writing a story about Sonic the Hedgehog and it ended up being about 79 pages long! Unfortunately, it was never finished (though I never intended it to be finished, I wanted it to be a forever ongoing story :P) and I no longer have the Word document anymore 😦

Reading back through my diaries has been quite refreshing. Aside from all the smiles it gave me, I’ve remembered that I have always had an over-active imagination from the start! 😛

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading My Diaries

  1. Writing in italics? A story about Sonic the Hedgehog?? I wouldn’t call that an over-active imagination– I’d call that an excellent imagination!! Nourish it, and put it to work in 2013– Happy New Year, Lily! : )

    • Lily in the Nova says:

      Oh how this comment made me smile! Thank you for this, Mark 🙂 And yes, I hope make use of my imagination in some shape or form this year! Best wishes for 2013 to you! 🙂

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

