Digital Illustration with The Girl Who Stopped Waiting

My latest edition of ‘A Story To Tell’ was The Girl Who Stopped Waiting.

Some Background Info

Originally, I wanted to post the whole story at once. But it took me over a month to complete just the first two pages!! This took me a lot longer than I’d imagined, especially as it was my first time illustrating digitally.

I found it hard to keep myself in front of a computer screen for so long. I know there are many digital artists who would do this everyday but I have always viewed drawing/illustrating as a non-digital hobby – one that keeps me away from the computer for a little while. It feels more natural for me to be drawing with a pencil on paper.

However, I wanted to stay open minded and thought this was a good way to try out a new way of drawing. I had a drawing tablet for my laptop, and a good enough illustration program installed, so I thought ‘why not?’

Like I said, it was very hard to stay in front of the computer and it was definitely difficult to begin with. I wasn’t used to drawing smooth lines on my tablet at all! I had to take little breaks every so often – to get away from the screen and to calm myself down when I couldn’t draw a good line, haha. But in the end, all those hours were definitely worth it. I never imagined I could actually draw anything as half-decent on a computer!

The Process

The process was fairly simple. I would hand-draw my pictures first, scan them, and then ink over them digitally. The other option was to freely draw straight onto the computer but, although I attempted, I wasn’t managing that quite so well!

I had to get used to drawing on a surface that I wasn’t actually looking at. It was also hard to get the textures I wanted. The biggest problem I had was drawing smooth lines that didn’t look so jagged.

Conclusion

There are some amazing digital artists out there who manage to make their illustrations look so natural. I have a new-found respect for them because it must take a lot of time, practise and dedication to draw something with so much detail.

I’ve definitely had a lot of fun drawing digitally. My next step is to try out inking by hand, using my new pens I got for Christmas 🙂 I’ve got a couple of mini-projects in progress for that… and soon, I hope to be able to start on my bigger planned project after I get in enough practise!

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Art & Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Digital Illustration with The Girl Who Stopped Waiting

  1. Mei says:

    Practice makes perfect! 🙂

  2. ANDY SIMON says:

    Thank you for your kind comments regarding my alternative Merlin Finale. It is a pity that the fans did not get the closure they were expecting to a great show. But who knows, maybe something can be salvaged from the wreckage by way of a movie or spin offs. I guess we will just have to wait and see.

    • Lily in the Nova says:

      Thank you for this reply! It would be lovely if there was a movie or spin off, or just something to help us redeem the magic of Merlin and keep it living on. 🙂

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

