MCM Memorabilia And Comic Con 2013

Today, I had the pleasure of visiting the MCM Memorabilia Convention for the second time ever! And this time, it was a joint event – Comic Con would be happening at the same time in the same place! I had never been to a Comic Con before. But if it was anything like the Memorabilia Convention, I knew I was going to have a lot of fun!

There was a lot of persuasive talk over how I should really dress up for this kind of event (I didn’t dress up the last time and my friend, who I was going with, usually doesn’t either). Apart from not knowing who to dress up as, good ready-made costumes often come at extortionate prices. But I decided I would dress up – very subtly.

I put on my Nice Girl t-shirt. At the front, it said “Raise your hand if you’re a nice girl” and on the back “Shoulders to lean on” with arrows pointing to my shoulders.Β  I wanted to go as me – and I did! I dressed up as a nice girl!

I know it’s not a particularly outstanding idea but it was the closest I could get to “dressing up” without having an elaborate costume πŸ™‚ And hopefully I could promote “niceness” at the same time.

I saw a lot of people in interesting costumes – plenty of Storm Troopers (Star Wars), a Darth Vader (Star Wars), Master Chief (Halo), The Stig (Top Gear), C3PO (Star Wars) andΒ  a couple of R2D2s (which were actually robots, not people!). And there plenty that I didn’t recognise!

My favourite, by far, was this guy.

Vegeta at MCM and Comic Con 2013

Dressed in the yellow and blue Saiyan armour, a little bit behind Mario and Luigi, was Vegeta (Dragon Ball Z). I really liked his costume, it was very accurate looking (especially the tail)… but I think his hair was the best part about it. And I guess I’m a little biased in making him my favourite because I really love Dragon Ball Z and, ever since I started going to these events, it seems to be the least represented when it comes to cosplayers. So for that, I give him kudos.

I wanted to get a better photo but the place was very crowded (due to being two events in one) so I couldn’t chase after him to ask. Oh err, and I was a little too shy… :mrgreen:

Overall, I had a really great day and a lot of fun. My only disappointment was that nobody came over to lean on my shoulders. πŸ˜›

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MCM Memorabilia And Comic Con 2013

  1. Whoa! Was the tail really tucked into his boot?? Cool! I think I’m going to start wearing my tail that way… : P

    Glad you had fun, and if I were the judge, I’da given you first prize for “Nicest Costume.” : )

    • Lily in the Nova says:

      Hahaha! I did not notice that before! That gave me a good laugh, thanks for pointing it out!

      Thank you very much! There were a lot of good costumes that day… I’m rather tempted to dress up more for the next one πŸ™‚

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

