My Heart Speaks

One thing I like about having a blog is that I’m able to write down my feelings and thoughts here freely. There are a lot of things I’ve wanted to say in real life but haven’t found a way to say it out loud.

These are three things kept inside my heart that I just wanted to put out there (or else I may implode from too much feeling).

Money was never the aim. My life has never been about getting money. I may have categorically followed that route to begin with because I thought it was the default route that everyone took. The standard. But one thing I’ve learned about myself is I am not a big fan of just ‘standard’. And although I followed that path to begin with, deep inside I never really wanted it. I followed it, but I dreamed of something else. I understand that in this world, we do need money to do things and lots of money would be a nice-to-have. But I have never truly thought to myself “my aim in life is to have lots of money.”

I choose to live for the present. I am not saying that I forget about the past and I don’t plan for the future. I am saying the past will always be with me, and I will always prepare for the future, but I don’t let either take over or consume me. I want to live everyday as it comes. I want to embrace the here and now. I will savour and embrace every second that is happening now and make it count. I choose to live for today.

Wake up!!! I used to go through life in a sort of… non-existence. I didn’t really think about it. But this past year, I have really woken up. Life is not just about getting a job, earning money and building your life from there onwards. Life is NOW. Life is happening right now. Feel it, see it, smell it, taste it, listen to it. We are one unique entity in this huge world. We have experiences, thoughts and memories that will be unique only to us. There is so much to see and I used to just walk past it. When was little, my mum used to tell me to “look around.” I understand what that means now.

Phew! Now that that’s out, I’m feeling better. Sometimes it’s good to release your feelings one way or another, you know? So thank you for enduring this post 🙂

Thank you for reading! May you have the most beautiful day/night/both!!!

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Heart Speaks

  1. Thanks for sharing, Lily! Your heart is filled with some truly wise thoughts. Just writing them down can be empowering. I feel more energetic just from reading them! Keep smilin’, and good luck with your projects!! : )

    • Lily in the Nova says:

      Thank you again, Mark, for your encouragement and enthusiasm! Always makes me feel great reading your comments. I’ll make sure to stay positive and hopefully have an update with projects soon! 🙂

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

