Kindness Isn’t Born. It’s Nurtured

My mom told me, it’s better to trust people than to doubt them. She said that people aren’t born with kind hearts. When we’re born, all we have are desires for food and material things. Selfish instincts, I guess. But she said that kindness is something that grows inside of each person’s body, but it’s up to us to nurture that kindness in our hearts. That’s why kindness is different for every person.

– Tohru Honda, Fruits Basket

*

Absolutely one of my favourite quotes from a favourite animΓ© series! Let’s all keep spreading kindess around!

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kindness Isn’t Born. It’s Nurtured

  1. I absolutely love this quote – what an interesting perspective πŸ™‚

  2. SilentKat says:

    This is definitely one of my favorite quotes, as well!! I also like the part where Kyo tells her it’s ok to be selfish, to say what she wants once in a while. πŸ™‚ For someone who’s constantly doing stuff for others, this really resonates with me and some other people I know.

    • Lily says:

      I’m like that too! Tohru was a character I could really relate to – so a lot of quotes from Fruits Basket really struck a chord with me πŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting!! πŸ™‚

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

