Hey Ferb, I Know What We’re Gonna Do Today!

I know a lot of people don’t understand my love for cartoons. And I don’t just mean anime, which has an audience of children to teens to adults, depending on what you’re watching. I mean cartoons generally aimed for children. After all, I’m a big girl now. Shouldn’t I have outgrown all that? Shouldn’t I be watching something more serious?

Well yes actually, I do watch shows that are considered more appropriate for my age. I watch teen drama/comedy Glee, family science-fiction Doctor Who, mother-daughter comedy Gilmore Girls… all of which I have never missed an episode.

But I still love cartoons. And do you know why? Because they’re fun and because they’re childish. But also, many of the shows I watch have something in common. They all have messages. Sometimes emotional, potentially character-scarring, but always good inspiring messages. If you add in a good dose of all that, you’ll have me completely hooked and probably never lose me.

And that’s what a lot of cartoons do. They may be aimed at kids but they have messages that can strike a chord with anyone.

And that is why I love cartoons. And if anyone knows me… if I love something that much, I will love it forever. I am serious. I will read into it and want to learn more about it. I’ve watched Fruits Basket and K-drama Full House three times, each time in a different language (English, Japanese/Korean with subtitles, Cantonese) because I loved the story so much, I wanted to know how well the (poetic phrasing of) words translated into each language. And I still re-watch episodes even now.

Yes, I have been called crazy for re-watching a series so many times… :mrgreen:

So what’s with the post title?

Well, one of my favourite cartoons right is now is Disney’s Phineas and Ferb. Created by Dan Povenmire whose mother told him to never waste a day of summer and Jeff “Swampy” Marsh who also undertook a lot of summer projects as a child. What I love most about this is how it encourages us to live each day to the fullest.

And this song pretty much summarises all of that in 1 minute 18 seconds.

Some people will listen to this and think it’s “just a song from a kids show.” I listen, feel inspired and think “hey, this actually makes a lot of sense!”

Also, you have to remember that the creators are also grown-ups too which means they do add things in there to cater for everyone, not just children. Namely pop culture references! 🙂 The references in this clip alone made me smile so imagine what a full episode can do!

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, YouTube and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hey Ferb, I Know What We’re Gonna Do Today!

  1. As a fellow cartoon lover, I can only say: I’m with you– bring ’em on!! I’d never heard of Phineas and Ferb– what a great clip! I loved how they snuck in a lot of classic movie references, like Singing In The Rain, Oklahoma, and The Phantom Of The Opera– cool! Thanks for sharing, Lily! : )

    • Lily says:

      I really do recommend Phineas and Ferb. It’s really feel-good and a lot of fun to play ‘spot the reference’ 🙂

      Hooray for a fellow cartoon lover! I must say I probably watch more cartoons than anything else on TV. And if Mark loves cartoons too then the evidence is conclusive – now I know I’m cool 😛 Hee hee! Thanks again for visiting! 🙂

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

