No Memory That’s Okay To Forget

“I want to live with all my memories. Even if they’re bad memories. Even if they’re memories that only hurt me… that I’d rather forget. If I keep them and keep trying, without running away, then someday I’ll be strong enough that those memories can’t defeat me. I believe that because I want to think that there’s no such thing as a memory that’s okay to forget.”

-Momiji Sohma, Fruits Basket

*

I live by a lot of Fruits Basket quotes. This is one of my very favourites.

There are some memories and experiences which perhaps we wish we could erase from our minds. If there was a ‘delete’ button in our memory, I’m sure many of us would like to use it at some point or another.

The memory is a strange and powerful thing. It knows we should forget about that green scarf our friend was wearing that one Tuesday two months ago. It knows to store the big details that matter to us, like the happy day we had with our family and friends, on that bright summer’s day or that snowy winter’s evening. It even knows to repress painful memories into the back of minds, away from our active thoughts, so we’re not constantly hurt. Isn’t that amazing? It knows how to protect us.

This quote really hits me because it tells us to make the most what we can’t control. Memories can’t be controlled. They can’t be easily forgotten. We can’t force them out. We can’t choose whether they should stay or go.

This quote tells us that every memory helps us grow. And I really think that’s true. Most of the time, we don’t even realise it. If we acknowledge this fact, I think it’s worth it. Even painful or sad memories can teach us something to help us become stronger.

We can’t control our memories… but we can grow from them 🙂

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Memory That’s Okay To Forget

  1. I like this a lot, Lily.

    I recently had occasion to compose some prayers for a funeral mass. They included the following:

    “Heavenly Father, help us not to dismiss any experience. Rather, help us to understand the lesson it teaches us about what is truly important in this world.”

    I think it’s the same way with memories. Accepting them, coming to terms with them, makes us stronger, wiser people. : )

    • Lily says:

      “Heavenly Father, help us not to dismiss any experience. Rather, help us to understand the lesson it teaches us about what is truly important in this world.” — when I read that, I couldn’t help but give a huge smile! This is exactly what I mean!

      I truly think that if we’re able to learn something with every experience and face every memory – then there’s no need to ever want to forget about them or dismiss them as a waste.

      Thanks, Mark, for a truly uplifting quote 🙂

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

