The Struggles of Writing an Email

A quick post today as I share with you a funny YouTube video created and animated by Domics.

I know this struggle all too well and yet, it’s kind of ridiculous – it’s just an email!

Personally, I find it difficult to write text to someone without adding a smiley face, emoticon/emoji or at least an exclamation mark somewhere. Sometimes I have to resist from adding a little too many…

It’s kind of difficult to convey expression in plain black and white, isn’t it? :mrgreen:

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in YouTube and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Struggles of Writing an Email

  1. I have to admit, it’s almost impossible for me to write an email without at least one exclamation point.

    And the same is true for blog comments!

    Especially when it’s you, dear Lily!!!!! : )

    • Lily says:

      Hahaa!! Thanks, Mark! 😀

      I find plain text always looks somewhat monotone when there isn’t anything to indicate some sort of expression. I guess that’s just how the voice in my head works when I’m reading 🙂

  2. soul . to . earth says:

    ROFLMAO – that Domics video is hilarious! I checked out several others on his site – just as funny. 😀

    Hmmmm…..when I used to write letters in ye olde days to close friends & family, they had stickers, sketches, smiley faces et al. Same style continues now in emails to them – I have 3 docs. w/ ready-to-insert emoticon links! 😉 Emojis help to clarify intentions, I think (or hope!) and avoid the risk of words being misconstrued. Email isn’t my fav. way to communicate but sometimes, it’s all I have left what w/ the distance.

    Lily, I’m enjoying many of your past posts – they’re fun to read. Sorry coz I’ve forgotten to hit “like” when I finished. In case you see a barrage of ’em o’er the next few days/ weeks, that’s me making amends.

    Do keep writing – your point/s of view do matter. (y)

    • Lily says:

      Radhika, thank you so much!! You’ve really made my week, I’m so happy you’re enjoying my posts! I haven’t written as much lately but I do still have a lot of thoughts – so perhaps it’s time to start jotting them down into more blog posts 🙂

      Thanks a million-billion-trillion for visiting 🙂

      • soul . to . earth says:

        You’re welcome a trillion (raised to infinity) times! 🙄 My sis had a good laugh at the Domics stuff too.

        I mean it – please jot down/ post more of your thoughts, it’s truly worth the effort even when real life demands take over. I started my blog (’07) because the public realm made me hold my words/ thoughts/ emotions to a much higher standard. To fully express w/o throwing up is what I call it. 😛 This ‘practice’ helps me even today long after I stopped blogging (since Dec. ’13).

        FYI – that (y) at the end of my comment was meant to be a thumbs up…..sheesh, it didn’t work. 😥

      • Lily says:

        Hahaha I really like those Domics videos too – always so amusing 😛

        Thanks for all your encouragement, it’s really raised my spirits 🙂 I’ll definitely try and write out a few more posts in the near future. I totally get what you mean by expressing without throwing up! I think writing is quite powerful in that respect 🙂

        P.S. Don’t worry, I figured out the (y) 😀 I used to use it a lot back when MSN messenger was popular 😛 😛

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

