How The Doctor Taught Me Not To Judge So Quickly

Whovians! What does everyone think of our new Twelfth Doctor (Peter Capaldi)?

I really like him! He seems much darker, serious, with a hardened edge, but hasn’t lost his silliness. He also seems much more aloof, kind of confused and a little less human, which is rather endearing.

But before he made his debut, there was a lot of commotion over him. A lot of “I don’t know about him” and “I’m not sure he’ll be very good” talk. And it made me think… this was exactly what happened when the Eleventh Doctor was announced.

Doctor Who hooked me in with a re-run of the Ninth Doctor’s (Christopher Eccleston) adventures. It took me that entire series  – watched in the wrong order – to truly reel me into the Who world, so I suppose my true ‘first’ Doctor was the Tenth (David Tennant). And as the series progressed, I grew truly attached.

So when the news broke that Ten was to regenerate into Eleven (Matt Smith), I didn’t know what to make of it. I was guilty of being a little sceptical. How could anyone be as good as Ten?

Many people were the same. They didn’t believe Eleven could be anywhere near as good as Ten. Ten was the best. Ten is the only real Doctor. Ten Ten Ten Ten Ten.

But one friend had a different opinion entirely. “Why is everyone judging him so badly? We haven’t seen what he can do yet!”

It was true. We haven’t seen him in action yet. We don’t even know that much about him other than what he looks like. Is that really enough to make a fair judgement? The answer was simple. No. No, it’s not.

When the time came for Eleven to make his debut, he completely won me over. It wasn’t long before I became attached to this new Doctor. He was different but I ended up liking him just as much as the previous.

So by the time it was announced the Twelfth Doctor was coming soon, I’d learned my lesson. Don’t judge when we know nothing about them. Give them a chance. They might surprise you.

And lo and behold, although even more of a change compared to the previous, I’ve already grown attached to Twelve. 🙂

It makes me wonder whether the fans of the classic series ever went through these phases everytime the Doctor regenerated. And if they did, did they learn? Will they ever?

Well, I for one, have learned 🙂

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How The Doctor Taught Me Not To Judge So Quickly

  1. Pingback: The Ninth Doctor Returns In Comic Book Mini-Series

  2. I haven’t seen any of the Doctors yet. That’s because I like to sit in the waiting room reading 20-year-old magazines… : )

  3. Pingback: 10 Lessons of 2014 | pyroandaqua

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

