10 Lessons of 2014

Time is never a waste if you take something away from those moments you spent.

As we soon bid farewell to 2014 and welcome a fresh new year, I compiled a little list of things I learned this year.

1. Only we can define ourselves. In January, I shared this post. If other people’s expectations weren’t there, would we be worrying over them?

2. Asking yourself “which is more important to me?” is a great way to combat procastination. Doesn’t work 100% and still requires your own willpower, but it’s a start. Which is more important – spending time writing my book or browsing Twitter for a few hours?

3. When it comes to telling jokes, it’s all in the delivery.

4. TV is not always a waste of time. Any form of media can be great in moderation. TV programmes are there to entertain, to inspire, to spark off your creative juices. Sometimes when I’m out of ideas, I find an inspirational TV show I like and feed off some inspiration.

5. Of course I love a hero, but I realised why I can be so captivated by a villain.

6. And it’s hard for me to not love the Doctor.

7. It’s okay to give up on something that isn’t truly for you. We all like the phrase “never give up” but if it’s not what really want, then there’s no shame in putting it aside. At the very least, you can say you tried it once – instead of you’ve always wanted to try it but never did.

8. There are good examples out there for why we should all keep our faith in humanity.

9. It’s a lovely atmosphere to sit in a coffee shop by yourself.

10. I thought I would perhaps outgrow this phase but apparently not. I will always have more fictional role models than real life ones.

*

Happy New Year, dear readers! Let’s welcome 2015 with open arms!

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10 Lessons of 2014

  1. Wow!! What a wonderfully creative way to sum up life lessons learned, and highlight some of your best posts!! So much better than that foolish stat thing so many people do. Your Wisdom goes before you, Lily, and enriches your faithful readers– especially me!! Thanks for sharing, and I hope your new year’s off to a great start!!

    • Lily says:

      I’ve found that blogging is a great way to record the things we learn and so easy to look back on too – and also really fun to share with others like yourself!

      My year’s had a fantastic start! Hope the same goes for you, Mark! 🙂

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

