Be Yourself – Because It’s Much More Interesting

“Always be yourself, express yourself, have faith in yourself, do not go out and look for a successful personality and duplicate it.” – Bruce Lee

*

One year in high school, my friends and I somehow wound up performing backing vocals for the Christmas Showcase. Part of the showcase included extracts of the musical Blood Brothers. I remember the leading girl being quite talented. Her portrayal of the main character, Mrs Johnstone, led me to think the character was a vulnerable type. She seemed gentle and delicate, like someone who would never look for trouble.

Towards the end of last year, I went to see a professional production of Blood Brothers. The lead, again, was very talented. But I was pleasantly surprised at how different her take on Mrs Johnstone was compared to the one I watched at high school. She seemed much tougher with a more hardened edge – a no-nonsense personality. This Mrs Johnstone was feisty and wasn’t afraid of a fight.

These two people played the same character but both were distinctly different. The story was the same but their interpretations of the lead role were different. Essentially, they weren’t being copies of what the character ‘should’ have been like. They had their own ideas and put them into their performance – and it was much more interesting that way.

And I believe it’s the same for life too. We all have traits we admire about other people and it’s natural that we aspire to be more them. It’s one way we grow in life. But we should never strive to be a complete copy. We shouldn’t be discouraged by our differences. Our differences are not always so bad – and you never know, it might be a trait that someone else admires about us.

We are our own person. We shouldn’t deny our unique qualities; they’re things which make us that little bit special. And that makes us infinitely more interesting.

Sure, it’s okay to say “I want to be more like that person”…

But let’s also remember to say “I want to be the best version of myself” πŸ™‚

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be Yourself – Because It’s Much More Interesting

  1. Hey, wait a minute– you’re too young to be so wise!! : )

    JK– it’s never too early to see the light, especially when it comes to being yourself. It’s tougher than ever for a young person to be themselves these days. So much peer pressure, media pressure, phony glamor, etc, etc. I wish I’d had your insight when I was younger, Lily. It’s a fool’s errand, trying to embrace someone else’s idea of cool.

    Great analogy re the interpretation of a role. Yes, what a huge difference that can make. Great way of saying that we’ve all got our own take on things, and that it’s vital that we share our unique perspective with the world. Most excellent post, my dear Lily!! : )

    • Lily says:

      Well I am flattered! I also completely agree – so much pressure from all corners and everywhere we look. It’s become easier to make comparisons instead of simply being ourselves. I think many of us (myself included!) need that little reminder that different is definitely a good thing!

      Thank you for yet another lovely comment, Mark! I’m sure there’s plenty more I’ve still yet to learn – I believe it’s part of the adventure of life πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

