Be More Dog Walker

Be More Dog Walker

Story time: One day, the house runs out of milk. I walk to the corner shop. It’s a short walk, peaceful too since the area is quiet. I like this route because I get to walk past a really pretty cherry blossom tree. When it’s windy, the blossom petals fall gracefully to the ground. Sometimes I pretend I’m in a dramatic scene from a Japanese anime as I walk through the falling petals because that’s not at all ridiculous– ahem… continuing on… :mrgreen:

As I’m walking, I cross paths with someone walking their dog. They say “good morning.” I say “good morning” back and we continue on our way. The end.

Okay, not quite the end. There is a point to this story πŸ™‚

It was nothing major; just a simple hello. It’s a little silly but when things like this happen, I always feel warm and happy.

But it’s also a rare occurrence.

It shouldn’t be that strange to acknowledge each other if we walk past. Thinking about it, it’s strange that many of us don’t and we play “pretend-ignore.”

This wasn’t in a busy shopping centre. This was in the local neighbourhood. Why would it be so strange to greet our neighbours?

It’s a rare occurence normally. But it seems a lot more common when there’s a dog walker around. Whenever I’m out roaming the neighbourhood, 99% of the time I’ll come across a dog walker. And 99% of the time, they’ll greet me.

It brightens the day. It brightens my mood. It makes me feel a little more connected to the community.

We all live on the same Earth. We all have the ability to make this world a little more connected.

Conclusion: I think we should all be more like these dog walkers. πŸ™‚

*

Note: For those living outside the UK or anyone who hasn’t seen the advert, the title of this post is a reference to O2’s latest advertising campaign: Be More Dog.

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be More Dog Walker

  1. I was searching for wisdom. I came here. I was not disappointed… : )

    Hi, Lily! I must figure out a way to disperse your good sense and cheer thruout the world. I mean, it would solve a lotta problems– no joke!

    I hear you. I pass so many no-hello people these days. Worse part is, they won’t even look at you, which discourages me from saying hello… : (

    Must admit, when I first saw your post title, I was scratchin’ my head– what on earth?? But it made perfect sense after watching that video– truly inspired, and very very funny! Thanks for sharing that, and your lovely, thoughtful reflections. : )

    • Lily says:

      Hi, Mark!! Always so lovely seeing you in these neck of the woods πŸ™‚

      Yes, me too – when I’m looking their way and they aren’t looking back, so I glance away but look back just in case!– then it looks like I’m staring at them for no reason, and finally it just feels awkward…

      But whenever somebody does say hello, it makes that tiny bit of effort all the more worthwhile πŸ™‚ Thanks for yet another lovely comment!

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

