A Free Birthday Email + Why Growing Up Isn’t So Scary

Heart Cupcake“Being young again is good… but having a long life is not bad either.” – Seiji Matsunaga, Love So Life

*

My day job is a rookie probably-not-rookie-level-anymore software developer. I feel lucky that our office is full of many fun and friendly characters.

Whenever it’s someone’s birthday, it’s common for them to bring in celebratory cakes and snacks for everyone. Everyone is informed via email. When it’s my turn, I like to make my emails fun if I can.

It’s my birthday over the weekend. I think that means I get to level up. I might even learn a new move! But I’d have to delete one first since I’m only allowed four…

Unfortunately, I wasn’t brave enough to email the entire building with that and ended up with something a little subtler! So please feel free to use it for yourself – I don’t want the idea to go to waste πŸ™‚

Growing up is a weird thing. As a kid, we’re all so desperate to grow up and yet it felt like it would never come. In our minds, we imagined having everything figured out.

Then when we get there, we realise that we haven’t got everything figured out yet. There’s still an awful lot we don’t know. Even more concerning, we begin to feel less sure about ourselves. We wonder how that’s even possible, how could we not know ourselves when we ARE ourselves.

I think that’s what makes it a little frightening. Another year has come to pass and we still don’t know everything. We end up with more questions. We fight with ourselves. We discover that we don’t know all the answers and neither does anyone else… and if that’s the case, then who are we supposed to ask?

I confess, I spent a couple of years of feeling insecure about it. But I eventually came to this conclusion. Maybe I won’t get to know everything. But the excitement comes from the journey of finding out.

I know, I know – that word “journey” – it sounds like another old clichΓ©. But every year that passes by, I like to remember all the things I’d learned in the year that has just gone. I think of all the mistakes and hardships, the ups and the downs. And if I learned even one tiny thing from each experience, then it was all worth it. Life is about character-building and soul-finding. We have learned so much and have plenty left to learn.

Like in the email, we should think about all the experience we’ve gained. A year’s worth of learning and figuring out stuff. I ‘level up’ and look forward to ‘leveling up’ even more.

If time-travel were possible and I were able to meet with myself from one year ago, I want to be able to say: Good work. You did great this year.

There’s still a lot out there that we don’t know. Part of the adventure is finding out. I admit, growing up is still a little scary, but I’m not afraid of it – if anything, I’m a little excited πŸ™‚

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Free Birthday Email + Why Growing Up Isn’t So Scary

  1. Lily! Is it too late to wish you a Happy Birthday?? Please say it ain’t so!! A Very Happy Birthday to you!!– and I can’t think of anyone I’d wish happiness for more fervently! Life’s a journey, eh?? I’ll second that emotion! And quite an adventure– and it would lose much of its zing if knew all the answers ahead of time. Take it from me: you’re doing great, and you’re helping others along the way just by being you!! Hope you’re having a great summer! : )

    • Lily says:

      Hi, Mark! Hope you’re doing well! I don’t believe it’s ever too late to wish a Happy Birthday πŸ˜› so thank you very much for your wishes! πŸ™‚ Yes! Life is more adventurous when we’re finding answers for ourselves. Seems to me it’s much for fun that way!

      Hope you’re enjoying summer too! And that the weather is a little more consistent than it is here in the UK πŸ™‚

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

