I Can’t Feel My Face When I’m With You… But I Love It

Can't Feel My Face

Hello! It’s been a while (again)! Today I thought I’d share with you a quick sketch inspired by a catchy song I’m sure you’ve heard of. πŸ˜› (I know I’m not the first person to make the dentist observation about this song.)

I’ve been working on a few projects lately and sometimes I get caught up in making everything absolutely perfect. To combat this obsession with perfection, every so often I allow myself to draw a very quick, very scribbly drawing. One which I don’t take seriously at all. One where it’s okay if it’s complete rubbish. One where the objective is to simply finish the picture.

The only rules are: if you mess up, improvise; if you’re not sure, go for it anyway and see what happens; and finally, no matter how many mistakes, finish the picture!

Editing after scanning is kept to a minimum. Skin tones are added in (because I don’t have any appropriate pens to do otherwise), colours adjusted slightly for nicer viewing on a screen, and some pencil marks erased (though I actually missed some!)

I probably still spent longer than I should’ve done… but it was nice not to worry excessively over every detail. Next time I’ll give myself a time limit!

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Art & Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Can’t Feel My Face When I’m With You… But I Love It

  1. soul . to . earth says:

    The only rules are: if you mess up, improvise; if you’re not sure, go for it anyway and see what happens; and finally, no matter how many mistakes, finish the picture!
    Lily, I think that’s the definition of life itself! πŸ™‚

    My dentist & dental hygienist are worthy of songs like the one in your sketch despite any frozen cheeks or drool – they’re that nice and good at what they do.

    Nice sketches and cool humour – more power to you to keep going! πŸ‘

    ~ Radhika
    (FYI – I found you via Mark Armstrong’s blog)

    • Lily says:

      Indeed! I definitely try to apply the same rules to life too πŸ™‚

      There’s so much talk about people disliking their dentist, it’s nice to hear about dentists that we liked! I had a really nice dentist as a child that I actually looked forward to visiting them!

      Thanks for the lovely comment and stopping by! Great to see we have common taste too through Mark’s blog πŸ˜€

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

