Two Hearts, Doctor?

Christmas is coming! And as with every Christmas, apart from the delicious food and warm company, I look forward to the Doctor Who Christmas Special.

So here’s a tribute!

Two Hearts - Astrid and the Doctor

Yes, it’s another scribbly, quick, just-do-it drawing! With the exception of adding dialogue, I chose not to do any digital editing this time.

Whovians should hopefully recognise our lovely Tenth Doctor. To the left, one-time companion Astrid (played by Kylie Minogue) who appeared in the Christmas Special ‘Voyage of the Damned.’

Astrid is singing lyrics from the song 2 Hearts. This song was released by Kylie Minogue on the 9th November 2007. A month and a bit later, Voyage of the Damned aired on Christmas Day.

The Doctor is a Time Lord, an alien species with two hearts.

So naturally… in my head, it sounded like the song was meant for the Doctor.

Some notes:

  • I personally think Astrid is drawn better than Ten. His hair was quite troublesome!
  • The badly erased pencil marks were from when I couldn’t decide where Ten’s arms should be 🙂
  • Astrid’s dress was the most fun to draw.
  • As was her pose.
  • As you can see, black was the primary colour in this drawing 🙂

Wishing you all a Merry Christmas! 🙂

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Art & Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Hearts, Doctor?

  1. Dr. Whom?? Oh, I’m sorry– Dr. Who… : )

    Hi, Lilly! Cool sketch!– and I enjoyed reading your notes, too. I like seeing stray pencil marks. Helps show the artist’s thought process, and gives the final a warm, human touch.

    I’m embarrassed to say I’ve never seen an episode of Dr. Who. I know he’s British, a super-popular cult sci-fi icon, and that he time-travels around in a phone booth, but I’ve never seen the show– blush! But if you’re a fan, I know he must be a right bloke… : )

    Just watched the 2 Hearts video. My favorite part was when everyone goes “Woo!” Uh… shouldn’t they be saying “Who!”?? Gave me an idea for a new hairstyle as well… : )

    Merry Christmas, and thanks for sharing your work!!

  2. Oops! Sorry! Spelled your name wrong! I’ve been away too long… : (

    • Lily says:

      It’s okay – occasionally I forget my name! 😛

      Hi Mark! So lovely of you to drop by again! I definitely recommend Doctor Who if you happen to catch it anywhere. I must admit, I got into it completely by accident – I was merely channel-surfing when suddenly I was reeled in!

      Hahaha! That’s genius! Everybody should totally have been saying “Who!”

      Have the merriest Christmas, Mark! And a fantastic new year! 🙂

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

