What Are You Thinking About?

“What are you thinking about?” he asked me.

I was caught off-guard, staring blankly at the screen. Granted, he realised I was just waiting for something to load. But for those ten seconds, I really had zoned out and entered daydream mode.

 

It would’ve been fine not to give it any more thought. After all, it had been one crazily busy day and I was just taking a few seconds to be idle… that wasn’t unusual.

But that one question stayed on my mind.

“What are you thinking about?”

I wasn’t even sure how to answer. Confusingly, I started thinking about what I was thinking about.

And what about previous times? All those times I sat idly whilst waiting for something? Those times I watched TV but wasn’t paying attention? Those times I was running on autopilot? What was I thinking about?

I read a quote once: If you want to know where your heart is, look where your mind goes when it wanders.

There are many theories behind night dreaming; one of which is wish-fulfilment. Our brain takes those things that we yearn for and places it into our dream thus fulfilling our wish. (Whether that dream makes any sense is another story!)

Maybe there’s something behind that. Maybe it applies to daydreams too. Perhaps my mind is telling me “Don’t forget about this thing!” “Remember, you want to be here one day!”

Or perhaps I’m working too hard and my mind is saying “Can we think of something else for bit? I need a break!”

But if nothing else, it’s made me remember how important daydreams are to me. That imagination-land in my head has kept me company since forever and is the best creative playground I know of. So many ideas were born there.

I’ve always been a daydreamer… but perhaps I should pay more attention to what it is I’m dreaming about!

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

