A Letter To My Siblings

To my dearest younger siblings,

Thank you for being two of the best people in the world. I can think of no way you two could be any better.

Thank you for your ability to cheer me up like nobody else. Your ability to notice when I’m not quite myself and how you make me laugh hysterically in just a few minutes. Very few people can make me literally fall on the floor with laughter.

Thank you for taking an interest in the things that didn’t interest you. By that, I mean thank you for putting up with my enthusiastic raves about things you had no knowledge of previously. And you’re still able to back-reference it in future conversations. Thank you for absorbing it all in and now being able to hum bits of music from Cardcaptor Sakura, recite quotes from Gilmore Girls and Love So Life, and know about my favourite Fruits Basket characters. In return, I can now quote Fire Emblem and can copy many of the character voices, know more about World War II than what was taught in History lessons, and can do a pretty good impression of Captain Price from Call of Duty.

Thank you for our in-depth conversations about everything, anything and nothing. TV theories, world views, education, science, art, life… sometimes I feel like I just can’t shut up. And that’s really something coming from a person who doesn’t always have a lot of words.

Thank you for humouring my randomness. For not dismissing me when I quote a song lyric after hearing a certain word, phrase – or even for no reason at all – and just going with it. Thank you for being amused at the awful puns I make, usually thrown into an ordinary conversation, and quite often referencing a TV show or game.

Thank you for laughing at me in a way which doesn’t make me feel like I’m being judged. For all those times where you didn’t understand my logic or interest but never made me feel silly, bad or wrong about it. For those times I made a foolish mistake but you never made me feel like a fool – you always laughed with me, not at me.

Thank you for being proof that siblings don’t have to be so different. They don’t have to have nothing in common, disagree all the time or be extra annoying… though I’m sure there have been a few occasions of the latter!

Finally, just thank you for being your normal selves. You are both the Dippers to my Mabel (it makes me laugh knowing you’ll understand that reference immediately.) I couldn’t ask for better brothers.

*

I really wanted to post this on Siblings Day but 1) we don’t have one of those in the UK and 2) I missed the date of US National Siblings Day!

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Letter To My Siblings

  1. Wow! What wonderful brothers!! Are they available to be my brothers, too?? : )

    Actually I have a nice bother, and four, count ’em, four nice sisters. And there’s nothing like having supportive sibs who can cheer us up, and know intuitively where we’re coming from.

    Dippers to your Mabel– ha! Glad you included links there– I’da been wondering about that reference all day!! A wonderful tribute, my dear Lily. I can’t say I’m too surprised that your bro’s are so nice, however– hey, after all, they are your brothers!! : )

    • Lily says:

      Haha!! I’m sure if I asked them, they’d gladly be your brothers too! Though it looks like you have plenty of siblings already to keep you entertained! 🙂

      110% agree – when it comes to bringing the cheer, there’s nothing quite like great siblings!

      Thanks for stopping by, Mark! 🙂

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

