Painting & Pokémon Go!

Last weekend, I was playing around with a new painting software over. I don’t often colour pictures digitally so this was quite challenging!

Pokemon Go - best 6 - EXPORT

The biggest challenge was probably deciding on the right shades of colour!

Perhaps you can tell that I’ve also been playing Pokémon Go 🙂

I’ve loved Pokémon ever since the Red and Blue Gameboy games and even more so after the animé series started airing on TV. So I was really looking forward to Pokémon Go.

Many articles I’ve read about Pokémon Go seem to be negative or make fun of players for having no common sense. There are also a lot of people who don’t understand the appeal of it. This is completely understandable (as with everything, it was never going to be universally liked!) but I feel some people are overstepping the line between “playfully poking fun” to “insulting”… and it makes me sad that some players are being made to feel bad about something they enjoy.

So I guess this drawing came about as a reaction to that – because Pokémon has been a love of mine for a long time. 🙂

The Pokémon featured in this picture are ones I’ve caught in my new favourite app. From the top:

  • Gastly – one of my first non-normal type catches!
  • Pidgeotto – who made me 10+ pokéballs by dodging/escaping them…
  • Nidoran (female) – caught in a city centre shopping district (disclaimer: unlike what the news might suggest of players, I was very mindful of other people and didn’t get in the way + made sure I was fully aware of my surroundings at all times) 🙂
  • Eevee – caught right at home.
  • Squirtle – my “starter”… Squirtle was also my starter when I first began my Pokémon journey with Pokémon Blue!
  • Raticate – my first evolved Pokémon in the game.

What I love most about the game is the joy it brings so many people. Seeing how excited people are when they find a Pokémon or the really sweet smiles/nods that they give each other – kind of like a Poké-salute – it’s really lovely seeing that kind of happiness.

The next best thing is navigating between Pokéstops (places where you can pick up extra items like pokéballs). It’s a great way to explore the local area, encourage you to get outdoors and maybe discover new places.

The game may not be perfect (but what in life is?) However, I think it’s a great idea.

Whether players are adults or children, just let us enjoy our Pokémon journey. For a lot of us, it has a special place in our hearts. For even more, it’s become a great way to spend time with family/friends and just have fun.

Now then. I recently acquired an egg from a Pokéstop which demands 10km of walking before it hatches… I’d better put my walking shoes on 🙂

P.S. Here’s an alternative sketch. It’s inspired by the many Pidgeys, Weedles and Rattatas  which seem appear most often in Go. I’ve caught quite a lot of those so far. 😛

Pokemon Go - first 6

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Painting & Pokémon Go!

  1. soul . to . earth says:

    Love the color combo – it’s bold and fun! I know zilch about Pokémon but, your love for it clearly comes through.
    It’s been on the news a lot lately and not in a good way. 😦 Mostly appeals (and complaints) to the Devs. to remove quests that involve players trespassing private property, railway lines, military areas, etc. Hee, hee, don’t ‘poke ’em on‘, eh?! 😉

    • Lily says:

      Thank you so much!! I’m really glad you like it 🙂

      Haha, I would hope that most players use their common sense when playing the game – unfortunately, the media likes to focus on the ones who don’t! But it’s good that the devs are helping to solve these issues anyway. I do feel bad for them though, must be hard to maintain an app with so many demands!

      Thanks for visiting, Radhika! 🙂

      • So true, bad news makes popular news. Sigh!
        Btw, why not put this sketch on a t-shirt (somehow) and wear it proudly? Maybe, only at home to not get sued! 😉

      • Lily says:

        Haha actually that’s quite a cool idea! I may look into that. (I used to have those T-shirt transfer sheets which you can print on and then iron onto a plain t-shirt… might see if I can find them :P)

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

