Songs For Encouragement!

(Life has been busy – it took me an entire week to write this because I didn’t find enough time to just sit and get it done! :mrgreen: )

*

I’ll start off by being very honest – the past couple of weeks three weeks have been quite a struggle for me. A lot of feelings of insecurity, discouragement and I guess a general fear of what’s to come.

Fortunately, somewhere along the line, I made myself a new habit which has stuck with me and has proved helpful when these kinds of feelings strike!

Start your day off with something positive.

My favourite way to start off my day is to listen to a positivity-inducing song. So I thought it might be fun to share what I’ve been listening to.

The last couple of weeks, I have thanks to give to Shakira.

I messed up tonight, I lost another fight
I still mess up but I’ll just start again
I keep falling down, I keep on hitting the ground
I always get up now to see what’s next

Try Everything (from Zootropolis/Zootopia) by Shakira

Every morning, I wake up and put this on my phone. I love the message; the idea that messing up and getting it wrong is all part of the process, that we shouldn’t be discouraged by it and should keep picking ourselves back up.

I would’ve written out the entire song’s lyrics above if that wasn’t ridiculous.

This song is from the soundtrack of Disney’s Zootropolis (or Zootopia, depending on where you’re from) and it’s a film I absolutely fell in love with. It’s great fun for kids but hides a good strong message for adults.

You’re a good soldier
Choosing your battles
Pick yourself up and dust yourself off and back in the saddle

Waka Waka (This Time For Africa) by Shakira

This song came up in the ‘recommendations’ because I’d listened to Try Everything so many times. Again, it’s fun, feel-good and gives me a lot of encouragement.

I wish I knew the lyrics for this one. But the song sounds beautiful despite not knowing the words. And I really like the video, it’s very uplifting.

Finally, although not a song, I wanted to share this video:

When I was a kid, my favourite thing about weekend mornings was this show: Dick & Dom in da Bungalow. Sometimes when I’m feeling down, I’ll just find videos from this show on YouTube. This clip was one of the most memorable moments.

For some reason, watching this always makes me laugh. Particularly that first car. Those cars certainly don’t seem very… robust. 😛

Wishing you all the most positive of waves 🙂

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

