Pretend You’re Someone Else (Temporarily)

I like a good costume. They look fun and I love how elaborate some of designs can be.

But do you know what I like most about a costume? How you can pretend to be a character once you put it on. Pretend you’re someone else completely.

I’ve never been brave enough to actually put on a costume and start acting like a certain character – but I’d secretly like to. I think it’d be fun to be someone else for a day and be goofy, silly, over-the-top. Make other people laugh by being ridiculous. And there’s no need to feel self-conscious. Because it isn’t you they’re all looking at. It’s the character.

Despite not having the chance to “dress up,” I do sometimes pretend I’m a different character in general life. I find it helps me to become the person I strive to be. Have you ever felt you wanted to be more like someone else?

I don’t mean to disregard the person you are now or to pretend to be someone you’re not. It’s important to like and accept yourself for who you are. But if there’s an area you want to improve on (i.e. more confidence) or there’s a part of you you’re suppressing but would like to bring out (i.e. your goofy, silly side) – then sometimes ‘pretending’ can help. No need to feel self-conscious because you’re being the character, not you – except it IS you. And eventually, you won’t need to ‘pretend’ anymore.

And don’t they say you have to repeat something so many times before it becomes a habit?

Another idea is to take on a milder version of dressing up in a costume; that is, finding clothes which resemble or are inspired by a favourite character. They don’t have to be outlandish or over-the-top. They can be regular clothes, completely suitable for real everyday life.

It might seem a little silly but it works for me. Even if you choose not to buy new clothes, you can still ‘pretend’ for a little bit. I just find clothes can help me ‘get into character’ 🙂 And it’s really no different to simply wearing clothes which make you feel comfortable and good about yourself.

I’ll leave you with this video of Disney villain Gaston (Beauty and the Beast) at Disney World Florida and his funny but cute interaction with a little girl. He’s really in character, being classically arrogant – and yet so funny.

I also envy his improv skills.

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, YouTube and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pretend You’re Someone Else (Temporarily)

  1. izzyeveryday says:

    Great Post~ ^^. Been a while since Ive been on my blog

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

