Goodbye 2016 and Hello 2017

Lots of people are writing long, meaningful messages on Facebook about how much life has changed in a year – so I’ll try and keep this short 🙂

Every year, I probably say something similar: “I’ve changed and grown a lot this past year!” But this year, it seems especially so – I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone a little more and discovered parts of my life that need some re-arranging. Some things just don’t belong in the same place anymore. Some things have moved out of place on their own. Some things I always knew were coming… but even so, it didn’t make it any easier when they finally came.

This year has been particularly emotional for me, much more than previous years, purely because so much has changed. Chapters seem to be coming to an end. But as time goes on, I realise a new chapter begins. And that feels a little refreshing. New things are happening.

I’m also one of the very few people who isn’t saying “This year has gone so quick.” I’m not really sure why that is. Because part of me feels the year has gone fast but at the same time, so much has happened. So much as changed. I’ve gone through so many thoughts and feelings. It just feels as though it’s been a very long year.

I always like to renew my aims and goals each year but with 2017 approaching, I feel as though there are challenges ahead – challenges that I didn’t foresee nor that I necessarily chose to give myself. But there they are and I’m ready to tackle them!

Wishing you all a magical new year! Let’s make 2017 a great year for ourselves 🙂

P.S. Remember at the end of 2013 when I started a quest to find a cute blue penguin? I found him!! He belonged to a little 5-year-old girl but he exists! 😛

*

“Everything ends. And it’s always sad. But everything begins again too. And that’s always happy. Be happy.” – The Doctor

About Lily

Lily is the blogger's name of an overimaginative, positivity-powered, and potentially awkward introvert girl who likes to think she's "quirky" (though it's very possible that she's just plain weird!) She loves music, musical theatre, art & comics, inspirational stories, languages, expressive people and anything that is a little eccentric.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading this post! Please feel free to leave a comment :)

